Cabbages and (kings) Cauliflowers


The Cauliflowers are giving me a good bending exercise. The worms are busy , reducing the leaves into a sieve.. The lush leaves become like some lace pattern within days. So, for the past few days, my routine is to wear my glasses and look for those predators in the plant.( like Karamchand!) The droppings are a give away. But the worm itself is tiny and furry. I get a surge of energy when I see them, and remove it by shaking the plants. The vigorous shake also gives out some small green worms, to be duly mashed ( Sad). I also find small insects , kind of orange with some spots on them and they just fall on the surface and need to be quickly disposed off.

Not so healthy😦

Growing.. hey..


Next three days go by without the leaf being attacked and all is well. After a coat of panchagavya, the leaves look lush and the flowers are budding.

But not for long, again some rains, and the insects are back .

For the past few days, I have tied the leaves together to avoid excess heat. ( Hyderabad, it is suddenly hot or suddenly rainy. ) This year the weather is tiresome. Despite the odds the curds are forming and I am , excited.🙂.

Some of the cabbage plants are already soggy, but I hope to salvage something out of it. I am banking on two plants which are growing well. The crackling sound of the pale green leaves are such a delight. The rain drops are sliding down to the centre, and the leaves are big. I wish the worms and insects will be easy to spot without damaging the leaves.

[

Picking up

The tiny ones, few weeks back.


I also spray neem oil solution once in a while, and hope to ward off the villains. More on that soon.

I had to make a sacrifice this morning. I had to cut the bottle gourd and Ridge gourd plants . The leaves were turning in a sad shape, with brown spots and what not and the dry leaves were a pain , once it rained. The plant was looking all kind of shut down, and I had to do it. Though it was fighting still and giving some small fruits , the rains were not helping in anyway. I did not get much yield on those plants.

The bottle gourd was giving a lots of promise, but the fruit did not develop properly. I did not have a proper trailing and the support I gave was not sufficient. The leaves were growing well and flowering too.,, but the fruits were getting some wilting or the other or distorted. Small fruits would not even develop. So it is good bye to Bg for now. Same with the RG. The fruits were ok , but not that many. The smaller ones were simply refused to grow and shriveled up.


But I am not giving up .
The plans are ready The next batch is germinating and I have to finish new potting mix
Avoid making the same mistakes , maybe make new one. This time I am armed with what not do . Also pester hubby to help in putting up some decent support. A bamboo trellis or as in this video.
http://www.youtube.com/kissankerala#p/u/12/FBmLZ0zwu88

I am amazed by this guy and his efforts; his family’s commitment. The garden is amazing in its simplicity. Hats off to him!

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Cabbage, Growing Cauliflower, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cabbages and (kings) Cauliflowers

  1. Diana says:

    Looks really awesome given how little space u have and how many things you are growing!! I hope the cauliflowers grow big and healthy before they get eaten😛

  2. Pattu says:

    Thanks . Hope you will see them soon:-) , And a new shade of Cannas has flowered. Hey..

  3. nags says:

    such a joy to see edible plants growing🙂

  4. thecouple says:

    hi,
    somehow we missed this blog earlier.

    we are too excited by vegetable farming on terrace. though we cannot do this in our terrace, we try something on our tiny 7×2 foot balcony in our mumbai apartment. have capsicum and chilly apart from flowering plants.

    where is your house/garden,

    we will now be regularly following your blog.

    cheers

    bindhu & unny

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Bindhu and Unny,
      I am in Hyderabad, and live in Secunderabad. Having chilli and Capsicum in a balcony is great. I am trying for capsicum since months, and they have just started srouting. Keeping my fingers crossed.🙂

  5. Rads says:

    Hi, That video is really very good. The family is not just growing there own vegetables but they also have there own poultry and fishes too. I guess dairy is the only thing that is missing. Very much inspiring…I wish I could do the same. Thanks for the link to the video.
    Since you are also from Hyd could you please let me know from where you buy your gardening supplies, stuff like cocopeat, vermi compost, vermi wash, seeds, pangavya etc., I am planning on starting a terrace garden but some other things have been eating away into my time. So not able to go shop hopping for gardening supplies.
    Does AP Horti Cultural society conduct and horticultural events. Early there used rose show, Hyderabad flower show or something like that. I am searching the news papers every day for the past couple of months and have not be able to find any.

    Happy Gardening.

    Best Regards

  6. Jeanne says:

    Those cabbages and cauliflower look really good. You are taking care of them really well; I’m sure your efforts will be rewarded.

Leave a Reply

