Kitchen Garden Day on 28 August 2011


Two nice things happened on Independence Day. For me to remember with some kind of satisfaction.

One, we met a nice person:

Our old TV was spoiled, and my husband was a little sad. To make his TV work, I searched the Internet for a service person, and got a number. I was skeptic about any response, being a holiday. But as promised within 30 minutes, the mechanic was on his way! I could not believe it. We in Hyderabad take things “chalta hai”. He took over an hour, and explained what was wrong. He also took out the mother board and promised to return tomorrow. But in two hours, he called back saying he is on his way to fix our TV! And lo, our old TV is fixed and functions very well. Thanks to that young mechanic who was very professional. A good service indeed. If anyone needs his phone number please ask.
It is odd to write a blog about this service, but given the kind of service we get nowadays, it is fitting to appreciate young people with serious attitude to work.

Second : The Kitchen garden day on 28th August 2011 is a big day all over. Bangalore and Mumbai are celebrating , by a meeting of enthusiasts. In Hyderabad too, such enthusiasts are doing their best to meet in Public Garden near, AP Horticultural society venue (organic food do) on that day. The timing is not decided yet. I give below the mail I received in this connection:
//
Friends,

Many of you have expressed interest to meet in person. As some of the
members suggested, Can we meet at Public Gardens on 28/8/11? Please
confirm your participation.

I request one of the members to take the lead and ensure that this
meeting happens on the said day. The broad agenda could be to get to
know members and share experiences. Members are welcome to bring some
plants or seeds to share with other members.

Regards

Venu//

So all you Hyderabadi Kitchen garden lovers, please come over and share your experience and enjoy!

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Hyderabad, Kitchen Garden day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kitchen Garden Day on 28 August 2011

  1. Madhu Sudhan says:

    Your blog is so inspiring. I must use your experience to develope my own garden. I live in apartment. I should arrange one meeting with you and rambabu gaaru so that my co-residents may also inspire. And that day I felt very glad to meet you all in the public garden. And the “Mirchi” plant given by them is growing well.
    -Madhu Sudhan

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks Madhsudhangaru. I am glad you lied my blog.
      Yes, we get inspired by reading others experiences and start our venture.
      Our won trial and error is rewarded when we see those lovely plants.

      Happy Gardening.

      .

  2. jaypeerao says:

    Hello,
    Very good and useful information about terrace garden for which I am looking for a while. Would like to seek your help in two ways .One is Procuring things in Hyderabad for terrace garden and the second is composting kitchen wastage (I have already got some information by googling).

    Thanks for your contribution to the world and society in protecting the enviornment and we should make our locality aware of this. Would like to see your mail to realise my dream of terrace garden.

    Thanks,
    Jaypee

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks Jaypee. Any question you are interested to ask, please go ahead. I can share any information I know.

      • jaypeerao says:

        I stay in a rented house and its a old construction. So, terrace garden won’t damage the slab? If so, how can I take precautions like by putting the pots on stands? What type of sapplings do I choose and where can I get all the pots, and sapplings near by chikkadpally? If you could give me your mail ID, I can mail you for further details.

        Thanks,
        Jaypee

      • gardenerat60 says:

        Hi. There are points to be taken into consideration before going into terrace garden. Please write to me at xyzpat18@gmail.com.
        Join me on twitter too,
        And come and join our Hyderabad garden group ‘Intipanta” in Google groups. It has lot of like minded contributors who share their expertise with us.

Leave a Reply

