Lethargy and lull


The slow paced life style in Hyderabad during the last two months due to various bandhs/strikes and political struggle has made my gardening interest take a back seat. I was house bound due to various reasons, top of all being the non-availability / high cost of auto transport. Thankfully, things have come to near normal now, and I have been going out shopping since one week. ( hey good times).

Meanwhile I had an opportunity , finally, to meet one dear young lady called Gayatri. she is an avid knowledge gatherer in respect of Organic Gardening. Anything you want to ask, she is there with a ready reply ” yes, I am going to experiment with that too”. It is not that she has some acres of land or big gardening space. Her space is her house terrace( a big one , thankfully) and lots of sunshine and boundless amount of enthusiasm. Its kind of contagious.

She has been experimenting with making Panchagvya and is also sharing it with people who want to use it, at a nominal fee. She is apologetic about the price, though it is minimum, and I had to convince her that she has to take money for the time,money and efforts put in. She has a young toddler tagging her all the time, but is not wary of the enormous task of preparing various solutions and keeping track of them.

So dear Organic gardeners of Hyderabad., you have someone selling those products right here ,.

My plants have successfully weathered out the bundh/strike, my indifference and neglect .
Few of the photographs here.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Amrit Mitti, Hyderabad, organic garden, terrace garden. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lethargy and lull

  1. Anita says:

    Great harvest pictures. Inspiring to read about Gayatri. Everytime I don’t try out something that I actually want to, I give the excuse that I have a toddler. But it isn’t a worthy excuse!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Anita, welcome. Oh .. it is not about the toddler, it is about interest, but one need not feel sorry. Some of the kids are very active and I saw the boy going about his mom, up and down all the time. It depends on the energy levels too🙂

  2. uppal says:

    Hi Pattu,I was wondering ,where were you? I can see, the protests for Telegana must have put your life out of gear. But thankfully, now you’ve some respite. Good that you’ve Ms.Gayatri to give you tips and some saplings.
    By the way the pictures of your vegetable haul are as fresh as the treasure on the platters.Congrats!
    In your absence I’ve posted many write ups,and am waiting for your response. Good Luck!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Uppalji. thanks for the good words. The tomatoes look nice, but they were pretty sour. Good for curries. The skin too is very leathery. But the sourness is good for gravy.:-).

      Yes, I need to read my fav.blogs, and reply soon. Having son , DIL, and baby , for Diwali hols, so full house and full time busy with happy heart.
      Will get back soon.

  3. Pratima says:

    Those are some yummy looking veggies… So tender and garden fresh!
    It is great to hear about Gayathri and her efforts in organic gardening. Thank you for sharing. I am glad to know that life in Hyd. is getting back to normal after months of chaos.
    Happy gardening!

  4. arati says:

    thats quite a produce for a period of lethargy and lull! glad to have you back.

  5. Divya says:

    You have a beautiful garden! and a wonderful blog as well🙂 Wish I have so much space in SG to have my own garden!

    Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog:) Hope you try the soup ideas and your family likes them too!

  6. Vanita says:

    You have put in good efforts for this beautiful garden. I would like to know the name of this pink flowering plant you have here.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Vanita, thanks. that flowers is called “vaadamalli” in Tamil. “Bachelor’s Button ” it seems. Thanks for asking I found its English name:-)

Leave a Reply

