Oats , diabetic food


Oatmeal (without the oats)
by Wellness Mama

So, after working out the other day, I was really craving protein, but was getting tired of basic scrambled eggs. On a whim, I decided to add coconut oil, almond butter, vanilla and raisins to the eggs (I remember a friend saying she had done something similar).

I figured if it was awful, I was hungry enough to be able to eat in any way, so what did I have to lose.

The taste and texture actually somewhat reminded me of oatmeal. Disclaimer: It has been a long time since I’ve eaten oatmeal, so if you’ve been gulping down the quaker in hopes of lowering your cholesterol (which doesn’t work) it might not taste so similar to you.

Basically, if you’re looking for a variation to try with your eggs that is more sweet than savory, this might be a good option. (I’ve also added dark chocolate before…. it was good… no, I’m not pregnant!)

Oatmeal Eggs Ingredients (excuse my vagueness!):

a tablespoon of coconut oil
A few eggs
a couple tablespoons of almond butter
a dash of vanilla
a sprinkle of raisins
dark chocolate (totally optional)
How to Make Them

Scramble eggs in the coconut oil until almost done but still somewhat soft.
Add all the other ingredients to taste and scramble until eggs are done cooking and ingredients are well mixed.
Eat while still warm… it is not good cold!
Enjoy… if you’re in to weird things in your eggs!

Well, this is not my recipe at all. It is the recipe and the blog that impressed me. It is time I let you all know that I am having blood sugar and I am trying my best to contain it. While searching I found this blog
http://wellnessmama.com/3502/oatmeal-without-the-oats/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=oatmeal-without-the-oats

Thanks to her I could find out a lot more , and I am toying with a few ideas.

Please let me know if you have more ideas!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in blood sugar, General, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oats , diabetic food

  1. uppal says:

    Hi pattu, The recipe of the scrambled egg having an oatmeal look was really amusing. One thing i tell you which benefits in lowering blood sugar levels is black gram flour. It contains lots of protein and tastes marvellous. I’ll just let you know something which i prepare at least once a week for breakfast: For two people ,measure four flowing tbs of black gram flour, one onion finely chopped,fresh coriander leaves cut finely, salt, hot spices and green chillies according to taste. In a bowl mix all these ingredients by adding enough water to have a pouring consistency. Let it rest for a couple of minutes. Heat oil in a flat bottomed frying pan on medium flame. Pour a ladle of the mixture and flatten it by shaking the pan. Turn it when looks done on the other side. Remove after about one and a half minute or more. Roll it into a roti or insert into two pieces of toasted bread.Since it can be dry sprinkle some tomatoe ketchup before using it , either way. It is so satiating and energy soaked..When we go to the bazzar,I always eat it and stave off hunger upto lunch. In Punjab black grams are a panacea for all ills. I will let you know a few recipes if you’re interested. Meanwhile try this one and let me know how you like it. If only if had been possible for me to demonstrate the cooking process via you tube! Bye for now.

  2. gardenerat60 says:

    I loved this remark ” In Punjab black grams are a panacea for all ills”

    Thanks. Kindly see my mail.

  3. Anisha says:

    It is a rather amusing recipe, vanilla raisins and dark chocolate in eggs… I’m one of those people who loves trying weird things not just in eggs but everything, and mostly come up with disastrous results… but when someone else recommends a weird combination I’ve got to try it out… Will definitely try this soon…

Leave a Reply

