Garden Progress in New Year


The cold is leaving Hyderabad and it actually threatened to rain these few days. The day time temperature almost touched 31 C , but due to clouds, today it went down. Strange weather , raising all sorts of virus activity.
Meanwhile, my garden is also active in its own way.

The red radish was a surprise. I had planted a whole lot of seeds in end November, out of frustration, for not doing much work in the garden. Many of them sprouted. Some were flower seeds, some were radish and some were carrots. Carrots could be identified easily due to its leaves. The others, I simply planted into appropriate containers with Amrit mitti and forgot about it. The radish appeared cutely peeping from the soil, and I am delighted. I also realized that at last the seeds bought from Geek Gardener , has been put to good use. I am waiting to taste them soon.

The Chikudikaya (Avarakai,Broad beans) plants are growing very well. There are number of white flowers on them, and many have already started appearing. Fun.

I had to re-pot/re-bag the Banana plant , using a lot of Amrit mitti. It is coming up well. though I am growing it for the leaves, I don’t feel like cutting them🙂. Another promising debut is the new Papaya plant. This was the last one re-potted. Keeping fingers crossed for it to flower soon.

I am also happy with my dear Murungai(Drumstick) plant. The flowers are appearing, though I doubt the fruits will be developing.

And I am glad all my Brinjal varieties are doing well, and giving endless produce. This year, I did not shop for Brinjal. The family is a little less enthusiastic about eating them every other day. And my dear Bhendi plant is giving a seed out now. Hope to grow more of them this year.


Some more plants have sprouted up, and I imagined them to be white radish . But today I found some pretty flowers on them.( the last three pictures). I am not able to identify the flowers. Many more plants are coming up with buds. Those red flowers also are something I am not able to figure out, but it is fun to have flowers on the Terrace, along with that pretty rose.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Papaya plants, terrace garden, Uncategorized, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Garden Progress in New Year

  1. uppal says:

    Bravo Pattu, bright and beautiful pictures. You’re doing so well in having new experiments with vegetables and flowers. I just feel like munching your pink radish. Healthy brinjal plants are always very productive.Send some to me!🙂
    It however, speaks volumes about your zeal and devotion. Interesting that you’re trying to grow banana plant in a pot. A lot of variety eh!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks Uppalji, Yeah the radish looks yummy to eat fresh. Though in South India, we don’t really enjoy eating fresh radish. May be due to the poor quality,and the pungent taste, compared to what is available in the Northern states..One of my colleagues used to say the radish in South India is all “bakwas”, cant be made into salads:-)

  2. seekraz says:

    It looks like you are having great success, Pattu! I am still eager to clear our garden area and plant a little bit of something…don’t know what it will be yet, but I believe it will be fun to watch it grow into something that we will actually be able to eat. 🙂

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks . But I will credit the sun God for the garden results. This is mild climate here, and we are glad to ahve those sun;’s rays bless us. In fact , next two days we are having festival to venerate the Sun God!

  3. Jeanne says:

    Very impressive, Pattu. I think the red flower is a begonia.

  4. Padhu says:

    Beautiful pictures! Great going

Leave a Reply

