Widening my horizon – floral foto meme


I have been advised by NixPages to consider linking my flowers posts to his Floral Friday foto meme. So here is our very own Manoranjitham flower, may be specialty if India?


The flowers start out as green,then become yellowish green giving out a heady scent. It is believed that it attracts snakes.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Widening my horizon – floral foto meme

  1. NixPages says:

    Thank you for joining Floral Friday Fotos, Pattu, welcome to the meme group!
    It is a wonderful entry you have here and this flower is well-known for its amazing perfume. Its botanical name is: Artabotrys hexapetalus (also, other species: Artabotrys odoratissimus, Artabotrys uncinatus) of the Family: Annonaceae. most English speakers would know this as the Ylang Ylang Vine.
    The strong fragrance of the flowers resembles lemon candy and melon. Woody climber, can become dense evergreen shrub bearing extremely fragrant canary yellow or light green flowers, turning yellow with age. Absolutely intoxicating fragrance! Once picked flowers are very long lasting and hold the scent for days, if kept in water, permeating an entire room. The essential oil is a common perfumery ingredient.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Nick, That is wonderful information. Thanks. I am glad I started with that flower. I will sure share this knowledge to my circle of garden friends.

  2. Jeanne says:

    Very interesting and useful. Pattu, will the vine grown in shade or does it need strong sun?

  3. Carole M. says:

    I love perfumed plants; would love to take this in …

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Carole, This sure is a mild perfumed one, There are other varieties of the same plant type, which spread the perfume over some meters. We used to keep the petals in between text books, in my student days:-)

  4. thendral says:

    Hi, nice meeting you. Thank you for your lovely comments. I too love manoranjitham flower. we have one in my mother’s home, but the flowers are somewhat different. I have blogged it here….just have look, when you have time. http://thendralscraft.blogspot.com/2011/04/sewing-for-summer-3.html I love plants… and have some plants in my terrace

  5. Thank you very much for visiting my blog and your “comfort and peace” comment. This vine is so interesting and must have a wonderfully scented flower, based on what I’ve read here. I wish you well with growing on your terrace.

  6. Chitra says:

    Hi,
    Is this the green champa? If it is, it has a lovely fragrance. I would love to grow this plant.
    Chitra

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Chitra.
      It is green Champa , and it is growing in a sack on my terrace. One vendor brought it on the hand cart, and promised me it will flower:-)
      Now I am looking for a smaller version with a thicker petals, which has headier fragrance.

  7. I have seen this, it is great.🙂

  8. poornima says:

    is your Manoranjitham growing in a container,if so how long have you had it in the container?

Leave a Reply

