January Harvest


Every morning , I need to go up the stairs, to the first floor balcony, and have a look at the plants, then go up further and enjoy more plants. For the past few weeks, this routine has been disturbed due to cold in the mornings.

I would say, I have become lethargic, have to motivate myself to take care of those plants, and then , not visit the garden for a few mornings. Mostly I go around after the sun is high , and then it is hot! Some reason or the other for being lazy, I suppose.

But the garden is busy as always.

These goodies are given out as a gift to me, this morning. It is the same old vegetables I have been writing about. But the plants are giving out new ones every few days, and I am glad to share them.


Here are some of the beauties I missed yesterday, the red Cannas, and the Gourd that delayed fruiting. Well, the fruit is coming up, still I can’t figure out what it is!

Hide and seek

All you Garden enthusiasts of Intipanta team , please assemble at Necklace Road Garden Mela, on January 26, 2012, Republic day.

More on that after the Mela.

While editing this blog, I saw another blog, which was about GORUS – Gomukh centre for rural sustainability , and about a lady running an Organic Farm in Pune. Impressive.http://ananthoosupdates.blogspot.com/2012/01/pune-organic-farms-distribution-of.html

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Hyderabad, terrace garden, Uncategorized, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to January Harvest

  1. Looks good Pattu! Glad you still are motivated to see rewards of your hard work.

  2. Anita says:

    What a lovely harvest! You are very fond of brinjals, it seems. My brinjals were prone to pests, so I’ve decided not to grow them this year. But I am really impressed at how healthy all your different kinds of brinjals are.

  3. 100% true and authentic organic vegetables !! Best way to a healthy life🙂

  4. uppal says:

    Hi Pattu,
    Your snapshots of flowers and vegetables have tremendous clarity and colour. I feel like suggesting to you about your great potential for photography and you sure can win a prize or two in a competition. Pl. tell me with which camera you click these wonderful pictures. Goodbye and good luck.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Uppalji, your comments make me feel so positive. Thanks a lot for supporting my efforts. Thanks God for good friends!

      My photographs are from the Ipod presented by my children last year. I have no idea about how to take pictures, but in the mornings, the sun just coming up, the colors come out well. I can go on and on about the I pod,.. at this age, this is the best gadget for me!.

  5. Asha Ram says:

    Hi Pattu, Thanks for stopping by, and sharing the link to this beautiful blog site. Impressive harvest!

  6. Hi Pattu,
    Great harvest! When you have identified your gourd do let us know. I had a similar gourd in my garden, unfortunately I could not save the plant from the pests😦

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Chitra Vaidya!

      My gourd is turning out to be water melon, I think and hope. But the fungus on the leaves are giving headache. the morning fog is playing havoc on plants now. gourds are the worst affected. Let me watch.

  7. moreplants says:

    All that from your terrace? That’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

