will they , won’t they? Cabbages.


I have gone slightly off the track for the last few posts. I have been surfing the net and found such interesting stuff, I had to share it with all you readers. Meanwhile, the garden is preparing itself for the on coming summer, and the heat in Hyderabad. Most of the tender plants on the upper terrace is getting wilted due to heat and this is not shivarathri and Holi, yet.

I am posting the few snapshots from my garden, and believe me, I do have a cabbage garden now. Almost all the seedlings have taken up to my containers and are flourishing, along with the early worms. To prove my point I have posted the photographs of all the cabbage plants. Right now garlic with a few drops of kerosene and soap solution is sprayed, to fight the pest.

A few other plants like broad beans, roses,snake gourd and unknown gourd is also in this gallery with a few flowers too.My red palak is also flowering and I am awaiting seed harvest.

I am keeping my fingers crossed for a good crop, but who knows. Will the Cabbages form or won’t they?

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Cabbage, garlic solution, wilting, worms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to will they , won’t they? Cabbages.

  1. NixPages says:

    Your garden seems ot be doing very well indeed! Lovely photos.

  2. WOW just WOW you really have a what do they call it “green thumb?” yeah that 🙂

    u know, i looove gardening and at one point had kept lots of potted plants. the pics are all there on my FB. wish i could show u because you look like an expert gardener🙂
    i had no idea we could grow cabbage
    loved your vegetation so much

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Sujathsathya,

      No green thumb, only rough hands. Just a hobby, started after I turned 60, to fill up the terrace. Found that it can give comfort. Actually Geekgardener’s blog inspired me!
      Found the internet and lots of friendly blogs who could help. then the sun God and Varuna did the rest. Also the cow which helped for Panchagvya.

      I too was scared of growing cabbage. But our Public garden in Hyderabad , sold seedling by 100s to us. But the worms are on the fringe all the time.

  3. AlphaTauri says:

    Such a nice garden. And an organic one too! Where is your garden located? I mean the city/ town?

  4. Jayati says:

    I loved your beautiful garden.
    It reminds me of the little terrace garden i used to have earlier.
    The pics are great, i specially liked the purple flowers.
    Thanks for following my blog.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome Jayati.

      I am glad you liked my garden. The purple flowers are my favourite. Morning glory. I go and say “hi” to it every morning( Its on the second floor terrace).

  5. Asha Ram says:

    They will form!🙂

  6. Smriti says:

    Wow! Your garden is amazing! I’m sure your cabbage is going to turn out fine! You’ve put in a lot of effort🙂 Tomatoes and peppers (including green pepper) do really well in heat – maybe you could try them if there’s too much heat.

  7. namitasunder says:

    lovely garden.What’s the progress of cabbages? All the plants must be in pots only.great job !I have a lemon plant in a big pot.It’s almost two years but not yet started flowering.will it take more time?It does not receive direct sunlight for a very long time of the day.just rays for half an hour that too early morning.can that be the reason?

    namita

  8. gardenerat60 says:

    All the plants in the pots. The cabbages are growing , but I am not happy with the insects. I keep spraying, but they keep eating. I will have to wait for 15 days more, I think Then it may become too hot🙂

    I have not grown citrus trees. But the Natueco gardens have citrus fruits on the terrace. And this link does say you can grow in containers. And they do need lots of sunlight?
    http://www.ehow.com/how_5182699_grow-lemon-trees-pots.html

Leave a Reply

