Summer is here!


Looks like Summer is here with a bang. We hardly had any winter from end of Jan on wards. The mercury has been rising in the day time, creating a good chance for virus to spread infections like cold cough and throat pain. The garden is responding in two different ways.

All the leaves have fallen from the trees, except Sapota. What was a lush Seethaphal tree has become sticks and bones now. But the tree has its renewal too. The new light green leaves have already appeared. Strange is the ways of autumn/spring in our area.
What was like this…

has become this..

The squirrels and the birds are busy in the garden. Waking me up at 5.30 a.m. by calling each other. Isn’t it a welcome way to start a day?. There’s still a little bite in the air. Walking in the compound is noisy, what with all the dry leaves crunching under the feet. The Adeneums are flowing like crazy, and a new color in Canna! So cheerful.. Hey.. Love this spring season.

The Jasmines too are flowering in dozens. Has the summer arrived so soon? May be 15 days early, I wonder. The jasmine like flower plant is also giving out buds. I do not know the name of this plant!

Here is another plant with gourd like leaves. I do not know what it is . But he leaves are fanning out , and many buds are appearing in the centre. There are no tendrils, and no shooting stalk! I am not going to ask anything about this plant. ( once again.. she goes…clueless:-)

Any of you would like to enlighten a dumb gardener, you are welcome.

Oh , yes the cabbages.. I am still struggling with the cabbage loopers, more on that later.

Meanwhile, I am forced to cover the terrace with the shade net, and I was busy since a week, doing the operation. It is tiresome, and hot and I am kind of sad to see the terrace in a mess. Still a lot of space to coverup.

One welcoming news is, the cow and the old man are back. He has started charging exorbitant rate for the cow dung and the cow urine, saying that ” it is sacred and lots of people need it for Pooja”. So I don’t really grudge him. But his daughter in law says he is squandering the money in drinks!

Therefore , Panchagavya production continues , once again. My amrit mitti preparations are also in full swing. The dry leaves sacks are filling up the terrace, with the neighbors being cajoled by my domestic help to pitch in some 5 bags.It is crunchy time , the smell of those leaves are divine., and I have to make many layers, before the rain catches up ( not for another 5 months In Hyderabad).

More pictures on the next instalment, till then have a good time with the mangoes. Please click to enlarge and view the pictures.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Amrit Mitti, Cabbage, cowdung, Gourds, Jasmine, Panchagavya, Panchagavya, Seethaphal, Shade net, Terrace and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Summer is here!

  1. Jane says:

    Winter was very mild in this part of the world, too. We’ve already hit degrees in the 70s, and it’s been the warmest March on record here. The photos of the Adeneums and Jasmines are lovely!

  2. uppal says:

    Just read about the, a bit early arrival of summer in your garden. So you’re busy in preparing the special manure for the plants.
    Lovely photographs!
    Communicating with plants in the quiet of early morning is as soothing as a prayer. And to the dedicated gardener it seems as if the plants respond in their own way. The relationship is intense and doesn’t require any pretensions.
    Here in Patiala the weather is heavenly. Warm, crisp and soothing breezes. The dawn of spring is slowly showing its many splendoured riot of hues. Byeeeeee!:)))

  3. Arun Kumar says:

    Summer looks refreshing in your garden. And wonderful photographs too.

  4. namitasunder says:

    Here morning air is still chilly but days are warmer.New leaves in my ‘night queen’ and ‘bela’ while winters flowers are slowly withering away.The nature cycle is always on move.
    Lovely pics.’Kena’ brightened me up and the tranquility of the morning in the garden slowly spread in my being.
    Thanks for the wonderful start of the day.
    namita

    • gardenerat60 says:

      You have night queen? I love that tree. I have touch it once, late at night, before I go to sleep. Summer is tolerable while those heady perfumes.What is Bela?

      • namitasunder says:

        Bela is also known as motia ,mogra and if I am right it is the same as Malli poo.this also blooms in summers .a white colored ,fragrant flower is found both in bush and creeper form.
        When my night queen is in bloom I also spend few moments with it after finishing all my kitchen chores.It kind of sucks away all me tiredness.

      • gardenerat60 says:

        Bela, motia.. what pretty names!

        Malligai was my obsession. I tried growing it on the ground long back, before the trees took over. It died, and then it wa a sore point all the time.
        When I started container garden, I brought two plants from Bangalore(carazy) and they survived. Full Khush! They have started flowering already here.

        Yes, the Raat Ki Raani plant is very soothing.

  5. NixPages says:

    Lovely post, good to hear your garden is doing well.
    Your unknown plant looks like a zucchini or vegetable marrow plant. You will be able to tell once it starts fruting, I suppose!

  6. sudhagee says:

    Lovely post. Looking forward to reading more about your garden as the summer progresses. I am one of those who yearn for a garden, but are completely unable to do anything about it — anything and everything that I touch dies and withers away. So I get vicarious pleasure reading blogs like yours.

  7. debajyoti says:

    that’s a lovely post. dunno anything about gardening but ll learn a thing or two from ur blog.

  8. Frankie says:

    Oh my goodness, It’s already summer in your garden and here I was writing about early Spring. The unidentified plant is almost definitely a zucchini plant, or some other type of squash. (But i’d be willing to be zucchini.) I’m not sure if it will bear fruit if it’s the only one around and it’s not self pollinating, but I hope you get some nice zucchini out of it. Did you touch the stems, they are probably prickly so beware!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Frankie, Welcome!

      I hope it is!. The stem does feel a little prickly, and it is very fragile too. Waiting for it to develop into something. The suspense is fascinating.

      Here , the spring is only for a few weeks, and then, bang, the heat is on, and the plants get scorched.

      • Frankie says:

        Yes, zucchini stems are prickly and fragile. If you cut one you’ll see they are hallow straws, bringing the water up to the leaves. They love sun so they should do well in the scorching heat, just make sure to keep them watered. Can’t wait to see if you get some zucchini.

      • gardenerat60 says:

        Thanks I will.
        In fact, I want to check right now, but it is night time🙂

  9. Mark Willis says:

    I agree with Frankie – the unidentified plant looks as if it’s a zucchini / courgette. If it is, you don’t need to worry about pollinating companions, because courgettes produce both male and female flowers. Be patient though, because to begin with they often produce just male or just female flowers, and obviously nothing significant is going to happen until they “get it together”!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks Mark , and welcome here.
      Yes, I noticed today that all the flowers were of one type only(male, I think). I looked for some sign of female flowers, so far nothing. The plants looks lush and lovely and full of water.. Keeping my fingers crossed.

  10. Asha Ram says:

    It’s beautiful to observe the seasons change!

  11. Sharoon says:

    You must share your recipe for the amritagavya….we need to strengthen our plants.

Leave a Reply

