My experience after World Environment Day


A Requiem for the Earth.  A Blog from Tomichan Matheikal

I feel like I am trespassing, into this wonderful blog, whose heights I can’t dream of achieving.  I feel guilty for using such a superb blog, to latch on for airing my view. 

Once I finish reading his simple words, and powerful meanings, I am brimming with anger, contempt, want to shout my approval, my disgust at people whom he points out, so much so, the comment section of his page is not enough. Readers, please bear with me and allow me to vent my frustrations here.

What with the heat, the power cuts, the water shortage, our days are perpetually busy, dialing the cell-phone for the water tanker person to oblige us. For the last 3 days, I have dialed his number at least 54 times, and he the good business person promises ” it is just round the corner, it is on the way”.

Our sump level is lowest, the silt is threatening to clog our pipes, the plants  consigned to dry out and die. I am tired of saving every drop of water in possible ways, and it takes it toll. I am sick too. I am dialling the number and I am in a dialogue with myself.

Considering that there are number of houses in our areas, who  get lots of water , why our taps are dry?

The very people who have cut down trees and built houses with multi-stories without an inch of greenery are enjoying, ( jealous).

I feel sad that we are the people who did rain water harvesting for years, for what? Just to beg  and cajole that water tanker supplier? There is no justice ! Here I am , just after Environment Day, calling someone who is draining the water resources, and making hell of a lot of money.

I pray and request that dear God may please intervene and let that tanker stop in front of the gate.

And it did today. Strangely, the owner of the tanker too appeared in his pristine Khadi white and rings on his fingers and two cell phones . In fact, he is a cheerful guy, always positive about his intention to supply water as soon as possible.( after 54 calls). I wonder what is his awareness level on Environment Day, stuff.

He says that the demand is so high the price may go up again soon ( today 1200).When questioned he blamed the govt. for having closed all the bore wells nearby , making it difficult for them to get water in the vicinity. They are using peripheral land for the purpose ,and may have to venture into next district soon, if the rains do not come. He was gleeful about it all. So much for saving the earth.

Meanwhile, two coconuts dropped from the tree, into our compound with the usual thuds. He was startled and said” why are having this nuisance, Cut off  those trees?” He felt that it may harm any passer-by and it needs to be brought down.

I wanted to know how does he  plan to get more water into the ground , when he is advising people to cut down trees?   Our  trees have  been there for last 30 years,and given only very best coconuts and not harmed anyone so far. He just changed the topic.

I simply handed over those two tender coconuts in a bag,  asked him to enjoy their sweetness and have a thought about cutting  the  tree off!

Environment Day or whatever!

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in coconuts, Environment Day, Shortage, Tree cutting, Water tanker and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My experience after World Environment Day

  1. bhavanas11 says:

    So like you Pattu–honest to the core, angry as a young, hopeful 21-year-old, innocently passionate like a woman who is still only a daughter…your article in spite of your frustration, brim with hope and love and care…and your activism is so touching. You actually do what most, including me talk about! Aah, I love your blog. I love how it breaks with norm, breaks with dos and donts of blogs–love it for its uninhibited rebellion!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Oh.. Dear Bhavana!.. I should have written about my husband’s bewildered look, ” why is she giving them to to that guy?”, then the usual acceptance.. she is changed now a days.. look. Hilarious. Once a rebel always!

  2. debajyoti says:

    i can relate to the problem which you are facing. even we are struggling with power cuts and water supply. but you live in a big city. why you have this problem there?

    and your post made me angry as well. after doing all those rain water harvesting and telling people how to save water, you are the one who is not getting water; strange!!!!

  3. manju says:

    I’m so sorry that you have to rely on the unpredictable water-tanker for water suply. No wonder you are frustrated!

    We are certainly disrespecting nature by cutting down trees to make way for concrete jungles and reducing greenery to such a great extent. Where are we headed, I wonder….

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Welcome here Manju, and thanks.
      Yeah, that guy was giving me a tough time.But what to do, there in no water for them to fill up the lorry it seems. All the lorries are being diverted to VIP ‘s is the rumour🙂

  4. Vidya Sury says:

    When we think of all the things people could do…it is downright disgusting. A simple example – people don’t care about dumping garbage wherever they like. Trees are chopped down to make way for constructions…And? there’s so much waste. Oh, I am boiling right along with you! Loved how you expressed yourself!

Leave a Reply

