Lalbagh Flower show, a kind of scoop


This season, when you  are in Bangalore, you are amazed at the cool and moisture laden air. In Hyderabad, though it is pleasant, once the rain stops, we are back to our dry weather and hot climate. You are also attracted the idea of going out often, as living in the city connects easily the  various places by friendly autowallahs, though heavy on the purse.

I anyway wanted to scout in Lalbagh for some Edward roses , and cajoled the hubby to accompany me to visit Lalbagh. And there we went, by 11.30 A.M. on Tuesday.

What greets us.. Surprise Surprise. the Flower show! Well.. not exactly…only the arrangements and various trucks and props, and flower plants being unloaded, and workers busy , with the Glass house cordoned off. It seems the show is to kick off on 8th or 9th, and we missed the actual show by a whisker.

Other places were teeming with screaming school kids, otherwise, it was calm and balmy. The gardens appealed to me , and as usual, I could not help comparing it with  our very own Public Gardens, which has so much space, and so much official apathy.

Anyway, I turned on corner to go the Nurseryman Society , and saw first hand what will be displayed in the vegetable sections during the show. If this is not Scoop… What else is ?:-)

Let me share with you, with pride, the container grown veggies , some of which I captured in my Cell phone.

    

I am sure all of you will agree that I can’t help admiring those container grown gourds,

( which keep failing me ), and share them with you , in admiration.

 

While I was browsing through, I found more pictures, and have added them to the post, later, updated.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Bangalore, Flower Show, flowers, Gourds, Lalbagh and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Lalbagh Flower show, a kind of scoop

  1. Vidya Sury says:

    Wow, I’d love a container garden! Somehow I thought the flower show was in January – didn’t know there’s one in Aug? Hmm.

    This is indeed a scoop. I too love watching things being set up – it is like being privy to something, like a premiere show! For how long are you here?

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Vidya, I was enjoying in B’lore , with my Grand daughter, and the last day, we set out to Lalbagh. Sadly, we left yesterday.
      I am waiting for you lucky B’lore bloggers to post some exotic pictures , to make me a little jealous:-)

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Ranjani, Those big gourds really took my fancy. The ladies manning their posts were kind enough to appreciate this Hyderabadi, and let me take a few pictures. We let Bangalore yesterday.
      So I am waiting for you bloggers to post some exotic pictures , and make me jealous.:-)

  2. ranjani135 says:

    Thanks for the first-hand photos of container grown veggies, before they are placed in the flower-show. Real Scoop! Were you able to find out Edward roses?
    We can expect some beautiful photos of the same and an interesting story behind them in the near future?

  3. Jeevan says:

    I visited Lag Bagh last year May and it was quite pleasant and we enjoyed the serene of the garden…. And there were no activities going on and no more flowers bloomed then. I know they conduct flower shows during Independence Day and Republic day. I wish to be there checking one of those shows…

    Nice photos on the veggie containers!

    • gardenerat60 says:

      YEah Jeevan, Lots of people in Bangalore were also asking why now? May be the new CM is free now only🙂 ti inaugurate. However there were lots of flowers and hardworking maalis arranging stuff.
      In case you can go, it is there for a few days it seems. If you go, click some pretty pics.:-)

  4. this year I have tried this container gardening, have tomatoes , raddishes , spring onioons etc in them , lets see how they do .. I am away from home for 2 weeks now i wonder hos they are doing..

  5. manju says:

    Great pics of veggies using container gardening! I must try this- though we have very little room for plants in our flat here in Mumbai. Maybe can manage a few small ones…

  6. uppal says:

    Hi Pattu,
    Looks like you’d a very satisfying visit to the Flower show in Banglore. A good representation of the show are your lovely snapshots of the container plants. More power to you!

  7. namitasunder says:

    Wow! what a happy feel it gives when we get something unexpected.lovely captures.even when there is no flower /veggie show the green and cool of Lalbagh leaves one refreshed.

  8. Nivedita says:

    I visited the flower show in 2004. The flowers and veg section were very impressive. It was very crowded, with people falling all over. What irked me was people plucking some flowers, veges and leaves, just the same way they write graffiti on the walls of national monuments.

  9. arati says:

    lovely! hope you enjoyed your stay

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks Arati. Yes, Bangalore stay is always enjoyable ,with my little grand daughter talking non-stop:-) , and spending time with son and DIL, taking rest.

  10. Nice post. I also heard about the Lalbag show. I am simply astonished as to how those guys are able to grow classy vegetables in pots.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Thanks P.N.S. Sir. There were a lot of women farmers who have brought those plants form outskirts I think. They are experts, and it does grow , with proper nourishment and nutrients.

  11. SoundEagle says:

    The photos serve to illustrate your experience at the show quite well, though many are too small to reveal enough detail. I wish that many of them could be much bigger. Could you reload them at bigger dimensions?

    Thank you for sharing. Happy August to you!

  12. Pingback: Lalbagh Flower show, a kind of scoop | Potted Plant Society

  13. Oh am missing sweet Bangalore ……

Leave a Reply

