Response to first showers


After hibernating for almost four months, the garden gives a welcome sight.

A few showers in early June, the heat comes down from 42 to 29 …31.Aha.. one waits for this magic for most part of the year in Hyderabad. The waiting for the dark clouds is over, the city wakes up to pleasant weather and I venture out on the terrace. Cool wind greets , bringing a new joy into the weary bones. A look at the containers is enough to lift the spirit.

The almost dried plants are shining with new vigour, small forgotten seeds are sprouting around in neglected pots, and the resilient jasmines , champanghi and beans and gourds are all rearing to go.. Any niggling thoughts I had about quitting gardening disappears, I am ready for another try at growing food.

A few visuals of the state of the plants that survived the heat and neglect

The change in the weather and the fresh growth after the showers encouraged me to go searching for seeds. A stressful exercise, rummaging through cupboards..which one?..was it in boxes or plastic bags…Found them tucked in boxes and tied , stored in a dark dry attic.:-)

The plan was to sow the seeds by Amavasya(New moon day). Next urgency was to prepare the seed tray/pots. Due to lack of time  I adopted a short cut procedure and made few pots and grow bags, threw the seeds at random, exposed them to the drizzle. Waited for a few days, and felt good finding the new seedlings. How I am going to replant them will be another story.

Trying my hand at tomato caging , amateur styleA change of weather also  allowed me to go around the city for coco peat, vermi compost, more pots etc.. Felt revived and joyous, doing stuff closer to heart!

Now keeping fingers crossed for more showers, and planting more .

 

 

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Beans, Canna, Garden after rains, Gourds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Response to first showers

  1. V.Lakshmana Kumar says:

    Very nice to see your garden.

  2. Always good to see your blog is updated. I have a question about cocopeat. I find that the water logging happens as it retains too much water and many plants die in cocopeat? Any suggestions

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Prasadji. Yes that could be a problem. I make multiple large holes at the bottom, sometimes big gaps.. Put hard coconut husk in big chunks and lots of dry leaves, filling up to half the pot. I dont usually have water logging.Of course water will run through easily, perhaps a little too much, but keeping a container underneath helps.Anyway the water overruns flows in RWH tank.

  3. Gita Sharma says:

    Hai great to see the garden come alive I tried meeting you probably a year ago but it did not happen may some time we cld both see each others garden. I live in anand bagh behind cinepolis /Spencer’s. Regd s gita

  4. Vinodhini says:

    Hello mam, I had a doubt? Does terrace gardening cause termites? My apartment folks removed all my pots in the terrace giving me that as a reason.

  5. raja gopal v says:

    very nice you are back madam

  6. Jeevan says:

    Wish more showering your way to enhance your gardening 🙂
    Pretty green vegetation! Hope you doing well too

Leave a comment