Item off the bucket list


I am travelling around Hyderabad .in the cool monsoon breeze , no trace of sun, and dark clouds rolling in the horizon. Me, who has no time or inclination to stir out of our remote corner , is zipping around in the auto, to Kukatpally, Fathe nagar, Chaitanyapuri,…There can be only one interest in these travels…collection of plants and materials. I never felt this happy shopping for clothes or gadgets..Crazy.

And the latest item in the bucket list got done. Ha!

Ever since the building construction workers threw away my ivy gourd creepers and the pencil ivy gourd lovingly given to me by dear Suneetha near the gates of Lamakaan,  guilt was what I felt . I searched high and low to find some donor who would be brave enough to pluck few roots off the plant.  It was nagging me for months. Shamelessly I had asked around in the gardening circles. Felt jealous when people proudly posted pictures of bountiful harvest . The obsession grew more. Finally dear Suneetha called me over and voila!..I am in possession of the creepers. Hope to grow them like Suneetha’s.. below :-).

IMG_4174

This is only in one corner on the front and side wall, there are many more inside. In a decently medium space, she has created a mini permaculture forest type. The lemon trees full with fruits giving away a mild smell, the pomegranate trees swinging with tender fruits, the bitter gourds peeping through the lush foliage, various types of flat beans, purple tipped beans (?)..climbing all over.

Side by side , the chillies too greet you, black, mirchi bhajji , tabasco and some more I might have forgotten. Under the canopy of trees, plenty of saplings of Papaya, ready to grow into  trees. Huge banana trees laden with small emerging bananas, sapota tree with fruits on the ground..(monkey business), Banganapalle mango tree, lots of indoor plants, huge coconut laden trees swinging..I wonder how can this person do so much?

Lovely rose bushes and dilli malli also are part of the set up. There are more creepers going over porch, young saplings of honey jack fruit waiting for adoption… (let me catch my breath).The plants enjoy sunshine, good soil and lots of leafy compost.  Suneetha look after them all , and says , its no big deal Bless her and the garden.

By the way does any one know that Junglee karela(spiked teasel gourd) , has male and female plants? Suneetha is searching for the male one, as her female plant refuses to get pollinated.. Anyone can offer a clue please?

.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in organic home garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Item off the bucket list

  1. Such eye soothing colors. Pattu mam may I request you to post some pics on Instagram, this way even if you don’t have time to write you can post a few pics and we can get our dose of greenery from your garden?

  2. Gita Sharma says:

    hai.I too have a garden on terrace and a little space around my home.you are welcome to see.I will put it in googleone of these days.you may see some on on facebook .
    gita sharma

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Gita Madam, now that the weather has improved , we can plan our meeting. Pl. let me know whether you would like to come over?. Let us meet in my home at some mutually possible time. Looking forward to your call/message.

  3. I had nurtured a micro jungle too,which I had to change to an urban multi layered garden to accommodate my grand daughter moving around without trouble from centipedes and other insects which are inevitable and integral part of a micro jungle.
    All my life I have been enjoying gardening and I am also a retired executive pursuing free lance consultancy in the area of water and irrigation management.I feel networking could be effective in spreading urban gardening and greening a great booster shot.Kitchen waste recycling should be integral part of urban gardening efforts as will reduce city waste appreciably(50-60%) while adding to oxygen supply,healthy foods and connect with nature.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi, Good to connect with you. We at Intipanta group if FB are all interactive and support the activities you mentioned. You may please connect with our group on Facebook, so that we can benefit from your experiences. Thanks.

  4. namitasunder says:

    Thanks for this refreshing tour through Suneetha’s garden.May her garden be always full of life . We certainly need more of such oasis.

  5. Jeevan says:

    Wow! She got to grow many species of plants, trees and shrub in the little space around her home… indeed an inspiration for many home garden seekers. Glad she lean help for you, enjoy the weather 🙂

  6. Raja says:

    Hello Pattu garu,
    Very happy to see such green plants, full of life.
    Am from Hyd too, a budding gardener.
    I have started with couple of growbags and need your expert advice.

    Also, is the intipanta meet happening at Lamakaan? I ve been there few weeks ago on a sunday and found no such event happening, though it was scheduled.

  7. Sushmitha Nandakumar says:

    Wow ! That’s stupendous!!! Maintenance is not an easy job, very well taken care. Suneetha is an example for gardeners 👍 Thanks for the wonderful post pattu mam, it was refreshing. Even I go crazy for these lovely greeny friends .

    I love gardening, but the moment I relocated to a flat , secretaries are not allowing me to plant

Leave a comment