starting all over


How time flies… It’s more than two years since I posted a page .  Lifestyle has changed , priorities have changed..Wordpress formatting has improved.. Cute grandson is more than two years old.. But the garden bug is still wriggling.

I wanted to give up growing plants in containers on a number of occasions. Sometimes due to lack of time. Sometimes due to lack of help or feeling unwell. But a glimpse of fresh harvest posted by like-minded folks would make me sit up and continue the effort. And effort it is. Climbing three floors up to care for the plants is daunting in the mornings, but the thought of all those lovely fragrant flowers and fresh vegetables keeps me going up, huffing and puffing.

I am encouraged by those  voluntary tomatoes, chillies , brinjal, gourd and marigold plants.. Luckily I had  gourd seeds left over from Vanastree, bought three years back.I scattered them and forgot about it , but they didn’t fail. Just sprang up. A Facebook friend posted purple beans seeds and they are thriving.

Apart from vegetables I branched out to conventional flowers too . Jasmine, Champa,(kodi Sampanghi, creeper a specialty of Tamil Nadu,donated by another graceful Facebook friend who flew the bulbs down from Chennai) few roses, lots of trumpet flowers, around 50 pots of Cannas ,Juhi and Chameli, Raat ki Raani,Chrysanthemums were also blooming to give me a sense of joy .

Unfortunately i am not able to continue using cow dung or intensive preparation of manure. I manage with products bought from other organic friends.

 

A glimpse of the plants in my terraces..First, second and third floor..:-)

img_2378

Gourd and Raat ki Raani on the ground.

 

 

Dear blog friends, these pictures are from 2016 and there are scores more to share  in the next few posts. Hope you will convey your  thoughts.

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in flowers, Intipanta, terrace garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to starting all over

  1. I was so happy to see this email about your blog. I am so glad you have started blogging and gardening again. I too have just started a few pots in our little balcony and hope to grow a few tomatoes, beans and some gourds, need to learn so many things about gardening and your pictures always inspire…

  2. M. LEO CHRIST says:

    Happy to see garden tips from expert gardener. I also maintain terrace garden, like you I grow fragrant flowers and vegetables, but I face a problem of ants, how can I destroy them?

  3. Ganga108 says:

    What a wonderful garden!

  4. Gita Sharma says:

    Hai Ms Pattu mami This is Gita sharma I had written to you earlier may be 2yrs ago. I live at safilguda ,I too have a terrace garden and may be like to share experience with you .I would love to visit you when ever you are free .my number is Pl call Regards gita

  5. Gita Sharma says:

    Lovely specially the kodi sampangi is it in bloom now .which season does it bloom Regards gita

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Gita..Thanks. The sampanghi blooms in August-oct only. Now it is dormant needs moisture to flourish. That is where Chennai and Bangalore score.(though did not find any in Bangalore)

      • mohan v says:

        hello madam , can i know how to grow this kodi sampangi flower is it thro seeds or stem. i dont know the kannada name of this flower does it has fragrance. from where in chennai or bangalore i get this thanks, Mohan

      • gardenerat60 says:

        Hi.. In Chennai lots of nurseries seem to have it. I got it from a friend. It is propagated through the root ball.The fragrance is mild Not found in Bangalore.

  6. Gita Sharma says:

    You may see pics of my garden on my face book album And let me know your thoughts Thanks Regards gita

  7. Jeevan says:

    Good to see you back and still continue with gardening despite your health, helplessness and time for grandson. Lovely flowers and healthy vegetable… glad to know some plants survive voluntarily and producing the same

    Take care and keep sharing here 🙂

  8. namitasunder says:

    I know, at times the effort seems too much but then nature never fails us. The selfless giving of nature encourages us to go on. Lovely pics. Good to see the greenery. Love to your grandson.

  9. its nice to see you post again! lovely pictures of your garden – especially the vegetables

  10. chollukireen says:

    உன்னை நேரில் பார்த்த மாதிரி ஸந்தோஷம். அன்புடன்

  11. chollukireen says:

    ஆசிகள். உன் பதில் ஒன்றே போதும். மனதிற்கு இதமாக இருந்தது. நான் மிகவும் உடல் நலமின்றி இருந்து சற்றுத் தேறி வருகிறேன். சொல்லுகிறேனிற்கும் பின்னூட்டங்கள் கொடுத்திருப்பது ஸந்தோஷம். மிக்க நன்றியும்கூட. அன்புடன்

  12. subhorup says:

    Great to see you back on the blog. Really appreciate your effort and determination. True how time changes things. I had to let go of the little gardening I was able to do earlier – primarily due to lack of the right kind of space after moving house, and the challenges of keeping the plants watered. I miss it, but when weighed against the resource bandwidth, it is not that painful.

  13. namitasunder says:

    hello, how are you doing? loved to see your like on my post. thanks a lot. It must be hot in Hyderabad too?

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi, Good to hear from you.. Getting along daily..but time for blogs is getting shortened… However, wont like to miss reading your blog.

      Yes.. we are also sizzling here , envying Bangalore and other places..Hope the rains will arrive early.

  14. Hemalatha says:

    Good morning. I’m Hemalatha here and I leave in my farm at Sidlaghatta Taluk, Chickaballapur dust.
    We have four acres of land and are manufacturing the vermicompost. We use farmyard manure 80% and use the mulch of glicedia leaves 20%. We introduce into the tank the earthworms at the right time. When the vermicompost is ready we mix up the micro inoculants to enhance the quality of the product.
    I can give you the best vermicompost. Could you please help me sell and u could also use the product for your terrace garden.

    • gardenerat60 says:

      Hi Hemalatha .. Good to know about your hard work on preparing Vermi compost . Wish I was near Bangalore to avail your product.

      Please get in touch with ‘Organic Terrace Gardening’ group based in Bangalore for promoting your product. All thebest

  15. Hello, Pattu. What a nice surprise to wake up and find you in my inbox! I also took a blogging sabbatical for a couple of years and never realised how much I missed it until I returned.

  16. JK says:

    Hello Mam,
    Warm greetings and Best wishes for your terrace garden.

    I am Jayakumar – Nice to see you post.
    Actually i was searching for that “Green Sampangi” flower plant for quite some days.
    Remember having this creeper flower in my grandma home when am kid. but when i search around my grand place in & around Ranipet, vellore – I could not get the plant.

    Could you please let me know where can i get that “Green Sampangi Flower Creeper” plantlet to get it grow in my garden.

    Eagerly awaiting for your reply – so that I could get that plantlet and get it fragerence smell quite after nearly 30 odd years.

    Regards
    Jayakumar

    • gardenerat60 says:

      I got it from Chennai from a facebook friend, It is available in Chennai nurseries around Poonamalli road, ambattur ,madhavaram and other places. Please explore. Also heard that in Vellore and Kanchi areas its available.

Leave a comment