Harvest – radish?


In early August, I had started a tray of knol kol, turnips and radish . When the seedlings emerged , it was raining continuously in Hyderabad ( unusual) , and the plants needed to be transplanted. I made a mess of it ,and somehow planted what I could. Most of them perished due to excessive rain, and rest were coming up. I was happy at least a dozen plants flourished, and the big leaves appeared. I let it rest for a few weeks and fed it constantly with a little NPK, and sprayed PG , and some neem solutions once in a while . I had noticed some damage due to moth activity but let it go.

I had cut those lush leaves and made a special type of fry for dear hubby..I served it as a radish leaves Bhaji, but something was different. The unique smell of radish was missing, and I thought may be due to organic style of raising ( how dumb one can get?) it is not having much of the smell .
The response from Hubby too was not right. He was kind of non-committal ,and only said” huh huh’

I have been watching these plants for a few days. Today, when I pulled out a few plants from their roots, there came some rounded small bulbs. Disappointed, yes, but it tasted sweet and good.

it was a good crop of Turnips . I have to add the photographs, I have got to get a camera and learn…. .. I was lucky when my daughter’s camera started working.. Hey.. here are the pictures(of the budding gardener )

About gardenerat60

As you guessed, I am a retired executive, looking for hobbies. Stumbled into gardening after reading blogs. Always wanted to use eco-friendly items in daily life. So, there was no heistation in deciding to put the vast terrace balcony to use for organic garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvest – radish?

  1. Jeanne says:

    Those turnip leaves do look delicious!

Leave a comment